Arrested for DUI? We Can Help.
If you’ve been arrested for DUI or DWI there are steps you need to take right now to fight your case because the clock is ticking. Here’s what Mark Zimmerman, an experienced and board certified criminal defense lawyer, can do to help get your DUI case dismissed:
- You only have 10 days to challenge a license suspension. The sooner you hire a DUI attorney, the sooner you can begin to fight back. We can file all the legal paperwork to begin the process of getting your license back. We may even be able to get you a hardship permit if you had a valid drivers license at the time of your arrest.
- We will challenge your blood test & the breathalyzer test if you agreed to take one at the time of your arrest.
- We will also fight the results of the field sobriety test since these results are based on the subjective assessment of the police officer.
- We will fight the traffic stop if we believe the police did not have reason to pull you over in the first place.
- We investigate every procedure that the police officer is required to perform in order to uncover problems with your arrest.
Most people arrested for DUI feel overwhelmed by the situation and afraid of what will happen. As criminal defense lawyers, it’s our job to handle the legal complications of this case for you and do everything possible to protect your rights and get your DUI case tossed out of court.
What are the Penalties for a DUI Conviction in Florida?
The penalties for a DUI conviction in Florida really depend on your situation, but they can vary from paying fines to facing jail time. Below is a list of the possible penalties for a first time DUI conviction:
- Fine of not less than $500 or more than $1,000. If your blood/breath alcohol level (BAL) is higher than .15, the fines are doubled.
- Mandatory 50 hours of community service or an additional fine of $10 for each hour of community service.
- A probationary period of up to 1 year.
- Potential jail time of up to 6 month. If your BAL is .15 or higher, potential jail time up to 9 months.
- Possible impoundment or immobilization of your vehicle for 10 days.
- Six month license suspension.
- Required completion of DUI School.
How Zimmerman and Zimmerman Can Help with my DUI Case
Mark Zimmerman is an experienced criminal defense attorney who spent 9 years as a prosecutor for the State Attorney’s Office. Not only does he know the law, he also knows how the other side works. Mark Zimmerman is a board certified expert in criminal law. This is a certification issued by the Florida Bar to only about 6% of Florida attorneys.
For a free evaluation of your case, contact Mark Zimmerman directly at (941) 364-8503 or fill out our contact form online. Since every day matters in your ability to keep driving after a DUI, contact Mark right away.